Some random stuff!

Hi crafty friends,

It’s been a gorgeous day here, which inspired me to go to B&Q to buy a sunny new yellow pot and some plants to brighten up the garden. I was given the pretty purple celosia by my daughter’s school teacher (for helping out on the Forest School visits) and I bought a red geranium and the something else with the pink flowers (I don’t know the name but it began with an O!) to join it in the new sunshine yellow pot. Here is the result!

20120522-165626.jpg

Moving on to yarny things, I’ve made more progress on my Sidewalk shawl but you’ll have to wait until tomorrow for WIP Wednesday for more on that. But I got a rather lovely little something in the post yesterday from Autumn Hollow Farm on Etsy… TA-dah!!

20120522-165931.jpg
Isn’t it stunning? Handcrafted in curly maple with crushed turquoise, it’s a real beauty and I love, love, love it! I tried a bit of spinning on it and it went great, the spindle feels a nice weight and has good balance, giving a longer spin. However, I’ve been curious about learning how to create a 3 ply yarn rather than a single ply. Ive seen it done in action once or twice but was completely mystified by it! So last night, after about an hours worth of YouTube videos, I finally felt confident enough to try the chain ply method, it was amazing! And quite easy!! So I’m away, first plying a length of single and then going back over and 3 ply-ing. Woop!!

20120522-171336.jpg

Hope you’re enjoying the weather, wherever you are!
X

About Snowdrop

I'm 20-something Mum of two, living in beautiful Wiltshire, UK.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Some random stuff!

  1. Woo nice to see you blogging more ! So jealous of your spinning ability!

Leave a Reply

